Whole30: Day6/30

Well I’m writing this from Day7 as yesterday was just a good day to get some work in and spend the evening with my lovely wife.

We went last night to San Tan Brewery.  If you’re in the area, it’s a great brewpub. Now of course I didn’t have any of their beer, but it’s very very good!  Their food, while not strictly paleo, is also awesome!  I made the best of the situation, and somehow avoided even having a NorCal Margarita, which they do pretty well there.  I did have a bunless cheeseless burger and a salad, and some corn tortilla chips with their guacamole that’s quite tasty.

Sleep: 12 hours!  Yeah after a week of travel and crap sleep it was time to get back on the only timezone that matters Mountain Standard Time!  Here in AZ we don’t do that silly day light savings time thing and since I was born and raised here, I’ve got not taste for it.

For lunch yesterday I was invited to go out to a Caribbean place called Ocean Blue. I had braised oxtail and curry goat with some fried plantains and some steamed veggies.  I cannot begin to tell you not only how good a place this is, but even more than that, it’s pretty paleo.  I am working on getting some more information on the food specifically to make sure that it’s not got wheat or other grain thickeners in the sauces, but at first blush it does not and it’s awesome!

Food:

  • M1: Large Americano (espresso and hot water) with heavy cream.
  • M2: Curry goat and oxtail with fried plantains.
  • M3: Bunless burger, corn tortilla chips, salad, guacamole.

Fails:

  • Obviously I’m not doing 100% on my dairy avoidance as heavy cream in my coffee is proving hard to shake.  I recall a comment once from Mellisa of the Whole9 crew that it was easiest to just drop coffee so as to avoid the cream and sugar that so often come with.  Short of going to proper espresso I may just have to ween myself off the coffee entirely.  I do have a bit of caffeine love and without the heavy cream it just isn’t as good.

Wins:

  • The near perfect experience at Ocean Blue has made me think that there may be room for a “self disclosure” system that help restauranteurs who are not so paleo aware but interested in reaching out to knowledgable customers who are looking for the benefits of a paleo lifestyle.  I am going to try to engage “Paleo Approved” on this subject.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

