Whole30: Day 2/30

Well let no one ever say I shy away from a challenge.  All to often it’s not to my benefit, but that doesn’t stop me from trying.  As I write this I find myself traveling, I am in fact sitting in the Denver International Airport getting ready to start the second leg of a cross country trip.  Now traveling can be a major difficulty when trying to stick to a diet, and for even the most rigorous paleo adherents many undesirable ingredients can sneak there way in.  Also sitting in an aluminum tube for hours at a shot and having no room to move is a special misery all it’s own.  At 6’3″ I am not built for traveling in the modern ways.

So, what am I doing about it? First, here’s a little something you should know when it comes to the TSA: YOU CAN BRING FOOD THROUGH THE SECURITY CHECKPOINT.  This is an important point to make as I have stocked up and brought a large insulated bag with a frozen ice pack.  The only thing I will point out…make sure it’s frozen.  This is important if you’ve got 6+ hours of plane travel ahead of you.  In addition there is a prohibition on liquids and gels.  When frozen solid, your cold pack is a solid, not a liquid or gel.  I have packed a lot of food: 3 servings of chilli, cooked chicken, cooked hamburger, some homemade chicken salad, a big bag of homemade beef jerky, and some seaweed salad.  This food will likely last me 4 days (my hotel will have a mini fridge).  While it’s possible to make less bad choices when eating out on travel, having this back stop of a pantry with me makes all the difference and removes many easy excuses.

Sleep: 6.5 hours previous night.

Food:

  • M1: Pork sausage and hardboiled egg
  • M2: Grande americano with heavy whipping cream (I screwed up and forgot my coconut oil at home!)
  • M3: Beef jerky (homemade).
  • M4: Melon, 1 oz bourbon (tisk tisk tisk) grilled chicken w/honey mustard and a salad with vinegrette.
  • M5: Chilli, beef jerky, hamburger, chicken salad, seaweed salad.

Pros:

  • Take some time if you have a lay over to really open up your hips (see Mobility Wod #4 again).  The numeric separators at southwest gates make a great place to do this and make the long hours of sitting somewhat more bearable.

Cons

  • Traveling is tough, and the pressure of expectations of those around you.  Sadly no one I work with has ever heard of Paleo  or evolutionary fitness so the expectations for dinner aren’t quite up to snuff.  The tough thing going forward is being strong enough to bow out of dinner most nights
  • Getting enough food in me earlier in the day would probably have minized my big time eating later in the day (M5)
  • If you’re like me and have a tough time saying no to things you shouldn’t have or just over eating, control your environment to avoid things that lead you astray.  To get all biblical “if your right hand causes you to stumble, cut it off and throw it away.” (Matthew 5:30)
  1. Marc B
    April 12, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    Don’t take yogurt – we learned that the hard way even though our excuse was “baby food”. we had to toss it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

