Home > Uncategorized > A chilly day of hiking and snow in the desert!

A chilly day of hiking and snow in the desert!

I’ve been to the top of Camelback a number of times over the years, and this is for sure the first time it snowed on me!  It wasn’t enough to accumulate, but it was still snow for sure.  The trip up the Cholla route left me absolutely spent for the rest of the day, and my knees are feeling it even the day after.

Camelback isn’t a route I’d normally do seeing as it’s often the playground for the unprepared and the many.  It reminded me though that I’ve not been pushing my comfort levels and boundaries at all.  While I think it’s pretty often people go out to hard too soon when getting back into working out and some folks just go nuts and work out too much under the assumption that more effort yields more results.

Sadly I’m not generally prone to overtraining, I’m much more prone to undertraining or just not training.  So this hike was a great reminder for me to program in some things farther out of my comfort zone.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. KT
    December 31, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    It was a good hike and I’m feeling it today. The snow was a first for me too. Hiking Camelback was beautiful yesterday!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

