Home > Uncategorized > That which is worth doing is worth loving.

That which is worth doing is worth loving.

As we approach a new year, I, like many people, find themselves asking if next year will be better than the last.  Many will set for themselves abstract resolutions for the new year that will fade out of memory.  I’ve failed more goals more times than I can count; and thats not hyperbole.  I have a new resolution every 15 minutes or so, and each one goes forgotten or lost to a new one.  Why?

It’s been said we should go after that which we love doing.  What do you LOVE?  I love my family, but that doesn’t lead me right away to goal setting.  What else do I love?  I’ll be honest, I’m stumped on that question.  If I take on the question of, “If money were no object how would you spend the next week?” I’m just damned flummoxed.  I doubt I’m unique in this regard.  In fact I think anyone who’s prone to failure in achieving goals has a similar problem.  Those who have deep passions and are monomaniacal in their devotion to those passions don’t forget about them and the goals they set for themselves.  So, what’s a passionless milquetoast to do?  Anything!

We must treat ourselves like children; as we haven’t really figured out what we want to do when we grow up.  The first step, is to realize that we often have fleeting love of the idea of ourselves doing a thing.  For instance, I see a guy climbing a huge piece of granite in Yosemite and I imagine myself doing the same.  Now, I COULD do that.  That is years of time, money, sacrifice, and possibly unparalleled enjoyment.  I’m probably not going to do it; I’m old enough to know that of myself.  So the first step, allow yourself to be possessed by the passion of an idea, then take it to it’s simplest extreme.  Using my example here, I’d say that going to an indoor rock climbing gym and signing up for a class would be my goal.  This is pretty damn easy.  If you see the Blue Angels and think, “I want to fly like that!”, then go to your local flight school and sign up for an intro flight.  They are usually pretty reasonable at $100 or so.

Now, if you’re like me you might just find that you do that, you put your toe in and like the water, but two days later you’re taken by a new idea.  Let it take you, but not too far.  Let life be about doing, even if in the most meager ways.  Most things won’t stick, and some things may only stick so much and for so long…so what.  Much like the girlfriend at summer camp, most passions are fleeting, existing only in their context.  So, let passion take you, but give it it’s due.

Give up your planning, get with your doing, but let your doing be small.  Many a first date leads to a second, but many fewer lead to a life long marriage.  Let your passions lead to doingand you may find a love.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

